Anzel Laubscher wins the 2015 SA Women’s Open – Chess

Woman International Master (WIM) Anzel Laubscher is the new South African Women’s Open Champion.

The winner, Anzel Laubscher and CHESS SA President Eldo Smart
The winner, a delighted Anzel Laubscher and CHESS SA President Eldo Smart

Anzel won a tough 7 round Swiss tournament hosted at Lady Hamilton Hotel, Cape Town by Chess Western Province.  The event was run by tournament director Christelle Fischer while the Chief Arbiter  was Linsy Pistorius. The time control was 60:60+30 seconds increment.

CHESS SA President Eldo Smart was on hand to present the prizes to the winners at the end of the event. According to International Master (IM) Anzel finished the event very strongly as she had to win the last 2 rounds to win the the Women’s Open. At some stage Nic had assumed that his own students had a lock on the tournament as they were both leading after Round 4.

In the end Anzel, a worthy winner, deserved to celebrate after such a tournament.  By virtue of having won the event, Anzel and the runner up Inge Marx automatically qualify for the SA Closed.

Chess SA President with winners
All is well that ends well. Winners from the Women’s Open.

Below is the list of the SA Women’s Open – Open Section winners:

Congratulations to the following winners

1st place – Anzel Laubscher
2nd place – Inge Marx
3rd place – Michelle Fisher
4th place – Dantelle Joubert
5th place – Thea Khoen

Below is the prize-giving in pictures. CREDIT for pictures goes to CHESS SA.

The Winner enjoys her moment
The Winner enjoys her moment



Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.